Trail of Governors gallery

The Trail of Governors in Pierre was initiated in 2011, with its first statues unveiled in 2012. This slideshow includes all thirty-one completed statues. As of 2022, all former South Dakota governors are portrayed on the Trail. Going forward, new statues will be commissioned for governors as they leave office, beginning with current Gov. Kristi Noem.

Below the slideshow, a simple map shows the Trail route with the placement of each statue.

This is an update of a 2019 post.